‘2014 Korean Pop Culture and Art Awards’ SM Producer-slash-Songwriter Yoo Young-jin Wins ‘Presidential Commendation’!

Group EXO Receives ‘Minister of Culture, Sports and Tourism Commendation’

S.M.Entertainment (hereinafter SM) producer and songwriter Yoo Young-jin and globally popular EXO were honored as recipients of the ‘2014 Korean Pop Culture and Art Awards’. 

At the ‘2014 Korean Pop Culture and Art Awards’ that will be held at the Hongik University Daehangno Art Center at 6 p.m. today (17th), Yoo Young-jin will receive the ‘Presidential commendation’ and EXO the ‘Minister of Culture, Sports and Tourism commendation'. 

The ‘2014 Korean Pop Culture and Art Awards’ supervised by the Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism and hosted by the Korea Creative Contents Agency awards those who contributed to the development of popular culture and arts and the spreading of Korean Wave. Award winners are selected according to the service period, domestic and overseas activities and achievement, contribution to the industry, and social contribution to receive the Order of Cultural Merits, Presidential commendation, Prime Minister’s commendation, and the Minister of Culture, Sports and Tourism commendation. 

Yoo Young-jin has worked as a producer and songwriter for SM and created multiple hit songs such as BoA’s ‘Girls On Top’, TVXQ!'s ‘Rising Sun’, Super Junior’s ‘Sorry Sorry’, and SHINee’s 'Ring Ding Dong’ and received the ‘Presidential commendation’ as recognition for his contributions in spreading Korean popular music to the world. 

EXO debuted simultaneously in Korea and China in 2012. In 2013, sales for their first full-length album ‘XOXO(Kiss&Hug)’ passed 1 million and swept year-end awards in both Korea and China and was selected as Most Loved Thing about Korea for Chinese. They set a number of records and were recognized for their achievements in the Korean, Chinese and global music markets to receive the ‘Minister of Culture, Sports and Tourism commendation’ once again showing the high influence of EXO. 

EXO will not only receive the award, but also put on a performance to liven up the ceremony.